Coffee maple martini? Margarita?

I do love a Friday night cocktail. My current abstemious diet does not tolerate any booze during the week (except if things have been really shitty/stressful … like this week) so as I’m draining the last delicious droplets of liquor nectar from my martini glass on a Friday night, I’m dreaming up the next concoction for 7 days’ time.

I was lucky enough to receive a breathtakingly elegant bottle of St-Germain elderflower liqueur for Christmas this year. I’ve found it is perfect as a martini, glacially chilled, with equal measures St-Germain and gin, and just a squeeze of lemon. It’s a little too perfect. I can’t stop thinking about it.

peartini

But I must. Because there are so many cocktails and so little time.

This week, as promised in Flavour Matching, I’m having a go with coffee and maple syrup. I have a wee bottle of Patrón XO Café tequila which holds massive promise.

If things go well, I’ll update with a recipe later.

If things go badly, I shall have a terrible headache and we’ll never speak of this again.

In the mean time, here’s some recommended reading:

How to Drink by Victoria Moore

Make your own coffee liqueur

Update

Coffee royale martini (makes 1)

  • 1 part each brandy, vodka and espresso coffee
  • 1/2 a part maple syrup
  • Shake over ice and finish with cream (if you don’t find cow juice abhorrent)

It was good, but I think I could do better. And as for the Patrón XO Café tequila, do nothing to that, nothing. Except draw a long shot over ice and go sit in a  locked, darkened room with it.

Coffee royale martini

One thought on “Coffee maple martini? Margarita?

Leave a Reply

