Sugar: to tax or not to tax, that is the question

Despite the example set by raft of countries worldwide, the apparent support of the public and calls from Jamie Oliver no less, there was no announcement on a sugar tax in Tuesday’s budget.

SMH

I am entirely ambivalent on the issue. The more I think about it, the more undecided I become. Whilst I can see there is an obesity crisis in which sugar no doubt plays a part, I can’t help think this game would be better played if the government were not to beat the population with a financial stick, but rather lead it with a carrot. Literally.

Isn’t this is issue about education?

I think I would like to be able to buy food at the price the producer and retailer set, without interference by the government, deciding for myself how much sugar I consume based on what I understand it will do to my body.

But on the other hand, I don’t have a couple of calorie-crazed kids at my heel, screaming ‘Mummy, I’m hungry, can I have chocolate/sweets/lemonade’ and the numbers speak for themselves:

tax saves lives

So perhaps I should shut the fuck up.

2 thoughts on “Sugar: to tax or not to tax, that is the question

  1. Hi again Eleanor šŸ™‚

    That is a good question! The nutritionist in me wants to say yes to the tax – it’s a tax solely on soft drink and can help deter people from it as cost can be a major deterrent… in an ideal world that would be enough to get people to drink less soft drink! Though I can’t help thinking about the alcopop tax in Australia – that did work to reduce the sales of alcopops but teenagers (whom the tax was aimed at anyway) just turned to other products instead!

    Sigh. In my opinion, it’s probably worth a shot? Though I am partial to the idea of mandating soft drink companies to state how many teaspoons of sugar is in a serve of their product IN LARGE PRINT ON THE FRONT LABEL of their product!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

